(Wix-Logo) Create a site!
100s of templates
No coding needed
Start now >>

 Distinguished Mentor Award


Dr. Adam Ward - Asst. Professor

Dep. of Earth and Environmental Sciences (formerly Geosciences)


Students say: "Dr. Ward’s support goes above and beyond research projects. He has mentored us on our future interests in undergraduate theses, the possibility of graduate school, and other postgraduate career options available in our fields of study. He is committed to helping students achieve their goals in completing quality research. Dr. Ward sincerely cares about his students and wants to see us excel to the best of our ability."


More about Dr. Ward

2013 Winner Dr. Renita Schmidt with VPRED Dan Reed

Dr. Renita Schmidt - Professor

College of Education


Students say: "Dr. Schmidt has taught me how to ask questions and gather research independently. She made me feel like an equal, rather than another student for her to take care of. Nita deserves to be recognized because of her enthusiasm for helping others, her dedication to her students, and her willingness to let her pupils take control of their own learning experience. I could not have asked for a better mentor."


More about Dr. Schmidt

2013 Winner Dr. Adam Ward with VPRED Dan Reed

The Iowa Center for Research by Undergraduates is pleased to sponsor the

ICRU Distinguished Mentor Awards.


These awards were created to recognize the outstanding mentoring of undergraduate students

in research and creative projects at the University of Iowa.


Current University of Iowa students nominate UI faculty or professional and scientific staff, who have contributed significantly to the mentoring and overall support of undergraduate research, for the award.  
*Nominees do not have to have been a part of the ICRU Fellows Program to be eligible.


Students nominating their mentors must complete the short nomination form that includes this question: Why do you feel this mentor deserve to be recognized as an ICRU Distinguished Mentor? (limit 500 words)

 Nominations that give detailed and specific examples of their mentor/mentoring experience present the best evidence for the committee.  



Recipients are provided funding for one ICRU Research Fellow for the academic year following their selection.  They will  also be recognized at the Vice President for Research and Economic Development’s annual Celebration of Excellence in Research dinner. This year the dinner will be April 3, 2014.


                If you have questions about the award, please contact the ICRU office.

(Wix Logo)
This site was created using
Create your own for FREE >>